On wishing I’d had a camera earlier …

On wishing I’d had a camera earlier …

This interview with Harriet Harman appeared in yesterday’s Sunday Times and is an interesting example of the Labour Party’s views on women in politics – essentially, HH is suggesting a quota system for certain roles:

” … in 2007, she secretly tried to change the party’s rules to formalise this principle. She apparently proposed that either the party leader, or the deputy, should be female.

She nods: “We haven’t actually effected a rule change, but I don’t ever think there will be a men-only team of leadership in the Labour party again. I think people would look at it and say, ‘What? Are there no women in the party to be part of the leadership? Do they want to do it all themselves?’ It just won’t happen again.”

Well, I hope you’re right, Harriet. Let’s see. However, I do agree with this bit:

“Harman feels strongly that voters are fed up with “boys running the show” and is convinced that every big organisation needs women at the top.

“Men cannot be left to run things on their own,” she explains. “I think it’s a thoroughly bad thing to have a men-only leadership. In a country where women regard themselves as equal, they are not prepared to see men just running the show themselves. I think a balanced team of men and women makes better decisions.”

And my camera requirement? When I passed through a tube station earlier today, the Evening Standard billboard screamed at me:

“Harman: World Banking Crisis is Down to Men”

Would have loved to have captured that one for posterity. Poor Harriet; all you do is repeat a six month old news story from the New York Times and hey presto – you appear to be the one blaming “men” for all the turmoil.

One thought on “On wishing I’d had a camera earlier …

Leave a Reply

